4 Tips to Overcome Social Media Addiction

Media apps are built to capture your attention. You are the product. Your attention is the currency. Dial back on the devices a bit and implement these 4 tips to take back your attention.

Many people are finding it difficult to get things done without being distracted by their phones.

These apps seem to have a magnetic effect on our attention.

I've experienced the same problem.

Whether it's endlessly scrolling through the newsfeed on Facebook, constantly refreshing the explore tab on Instagram, or just binge-watching TikTok, Reels, Shorts, etc.

I’m pretty sure I was addicted to social media for a ridiculous time.

I used to check Instagram religiously to see what people were doing.

I didn’t even post much but for some reason, I had the urge to open my phone whenever I was waiting in line or bored at home.

Luckily I’ve been mindful enough to discover 4 simple tips that have helped me regain control of my attention

These have helped me increase my productivity at work, and decrease the amount of time I waste on the internet and social media in general all without compromising my ability to be reached by people that I care about.

Each tip gets progressively more extreme so stay tuned and throw your phone in the garbage…for now.

Let's get right into it.

Turn off your notifications

This sounds simple but as the saying goes, out of sight out of mind.

If you’re being pinged all the time it's tempting to pick up your phone and enter the rabbit hole that is social media.

You can still access your apps when you decide to use them but it stops you from endlessly scrolling once you’ve opened the app, which is the main problem we're trying to avoid here.

This is definitely one of the best and most easily implemented strategies to help you stop mindlessly scrolling through the life-sucking news feed.

Remove the apps from your home screen or phone

This is helpful for the exact same reason that my first tip was helpful.

It keeps you away from the News Feed.

Why do you need to know what meme Joe Schmo tagged Nancy Pants two hours ago?

It's pretty much useless information and it's taking away from the time you could be using more productively.

I know you probably have some things you’ve been putting off for a while but SOMEHOW you don’t have enough “TIME”.

Do a 30-day social media detox

In addition to deleting the apps off of your phone, you’ll also be deleting your auto-fill passwords from your keychain or password vault.

It can be easy to log into Facebook or Instagram on your web browser and end up back into infinite scroll hell.

Delete your passwords and essentially lock yourself out for 30 days.

Don’t even write your passwords down.

You can still get in if you really want to but you're reading this to stay off.

Don't give yourself an excuse.

Go to the settings in your phone and turn your screen grayscale

This one might sound a bit weird, like how will this help you?

Your mind is subconsciously attracted to the variety of colors on your phone, so a dull screen will be less likely to get your attention.

Give it a try right now.

Go to the accessibility and vision settings and change your phone's color settings to black and white.

Very unattractive right?

Now go read a book, meditate, and write your autobiography.

Willpower will NOT help you

So why the need for all the hacks?

Studies have shown that willpower is a finite resource that depletes throughout the day the more decisions you make.

This means that in the morning when you haven't made any decisions at all, make the right decision

To do productive work - implement these tips and use that tremendous amount of willpower you have to get important things done.

If you follow these four tips, I can assure you that social media and the internet will start becoming less of a distraction in your life and you'll get a lot more work done.

What are your thoughts?

Do you think these tips were helpful?

Which of these will you try to implement to cut down on your social media consumption?

Could you drop a comment below and let me know?

I look forward to YOUR response.

If you found value in this article and want to see more content like this, consider subscribing to my newsletter and YouTube channel below so you know when I post more informative videos & articles.

Catch you at the next one!

Now turn that phone into a 1950s TV.

Reply

or to participate.