• Focus Friday
  • Posts
  • 7 Mindset Lessons From Moving A House In The Countryside

7 Mindset Lessons From Moving A House In The Countryside

How a 2-month move taught me the secrets of success, resilience, and self-improvement.

Good morning!

It’s been a while.

Today I’m going to share an update on where the f*ck I’ve been while leaving you with some lessons I’ve learned along the way.

I’ve spent the last 2+ months moving.

Not the traditional move your shit from one house to another, no.

I moved my whole house! (proof below)

Yes, you read correctly.

My wife and I bought a manufactured home right before the pandemic hit. It’s just been sitting on my in-laws property for the last 3 years.

And it’s not a mobile home, it’s double-wide and built sturdier, so it’s somewhat fancy (if I do say so myself).

We decided we wanted to live on our own and raise our kids by our standards before 2024.

Currently, we’re making small adjustments, cleaning up the property, and trying to come to terms with the fact that we own a tiny piece of Earth.

Let’s forget about taxes for a second, yeah?

You can see the progression on X below as I take you through my journey.

Here are 7 mindset lessons I’ve learned from moving (with footage of me on the battlefield):

1) Work smarter AND harder

Most people tell you to work smarter, not harder.

That’s true for non-creative tasks like digging a trench and all types of manual labor.

However, when it comes to creative endeavors, elite-level crafts, and knowledge work, you should do BOTH.

Working smarter allows you to maximize your output with less time (leverage).

Working harder allows you to stand out if your craft involves competition (business/work).

For me, I’m building a personal brand and trying to earn bonuses at my job.

I need to leverage my time by working on skills that make an impact as opposed to mundane tasks like checking emails and making my Notion dashboard look aesthetic.

Lastly, working harder might just mean you spend a little more time each day refining your craft.

  • Send an extra 3 DMs

  • Spend an extra 10 minutes writing code

  • Add an extra bonus to your new client’s program

Sometimes it means just outlasting your competition. Keep going when others decide to quit because real progress in anything takes years.

2) Adopt the mindset of antifragility

I stole this one from my buddy Chris Fritz.

The concept of Antifragility means resilience.

Life will throw a lot of nasty shit at you. That is guaranteed.

If you embrace that fact and reframe it as a growth opportunity, you become undefeatable.

Even when the hardest circumstances face you, you’ll come out of it unscathed or better, more Antifragile.

3) Environment is an extension of your mind

Your surroundings will make or break you.

Every second, your subconscious mind is taking in the environment, processing it, and giving you feedback.

Think of it as a water pipe that is constantly dripping.

Sure, one drop isn’t much, but over years of single drips, you probably have a pond’s worth of water.

That water is the

  • Opinion of family members

  • TV that’s constantly blasting propaganda

  • Bad memories of your childhood that make you anxious

If you can, change your environment. Move to a place where you have more control over your inputs.

It might be the key to finally being able to pursue your dreams that have been on hold for years.

4) Functional fitness is just being more of a human

The gym is glorified but you don’t need it to get in great shape.

I lost 8 lbs (unintentionally) from all the manual labor I did this past 2 months.

You don’t need to make holes in your yard. I’m just saying you could get in great shape by simply doing what humans were designed to do:

  • Walk

  • Carry

  • Squat

  • Bend

  • Push

  • Pull

  • Twist

These are primal movement patterns. Just add some weight to them, do a combination of them daily and progressively make it more difficult.

Fitness should be simple.

If you need a workout program, I have you covered with The Essentials Program.

5) Everyone needs to learn psychology and marketing

I used to be a socially anxious introvert who avoided interactions.

Stuck in my room playing video games, I hoped I never had to get a job or speak to random strangers.

In 2019, I sold over 6-figures of personal training packages in person which got me promoted at my old job in 4 months.

Learning how to sell and market is a life cheat code.

You don’t even need to be salesy or sneaky like a used car salesman about it.

Psychology is just the way our brain works. If you can get people to like you, you get opportunities to get what you want.

  • Access

  • Money

  • Security

  • Resources

  • Relationships

6) Don’t take your comforts for granted

Gratitude is underrated.

I used to be a little shithead narcissist but I’ve learned to count my blessings.

Because at any moment you can lose what you value the most.

Plus, no one likes a narcissist.

I know too many of them.

I like to write 3 things I’m grateful for in my journal at least once a week.

It allows me to reframe my perspective especially if I’m feeling down.

Remembering who and what I have in my life, brings me peace of mind.

7) Setbacks make success sweeter

“End world suffering!”

Can you imagine a world where no problems existed?

Life would lose its meaning.

The only reason we desire abs so much is because insecurity exists.

The only reason we crave donuts so much is because hunger exists.

The only reason we move toward pleasure is because pain exists.

Look, I’m not saying people should suffer the worst of circumstances, I’m not for any of these wars going on overseas.

I’m just saying meaning and purpose come from contrast.

You want to win so badly because losing sucks ass.

Summary

  1. Work smarter AND harder.

  2. Adopt the mindset of Antifragility.

  3. Environment is an extension of your mind.

  4. Functional fitness is just being more of a human.

  5. Everyone needs to learn psychology and marketing.

  6. Don’t take your comforts for granted.

  7. Setbacks make success sweeter.

Hope these were helpful!

You can expect regular emails from me 2 times a month minimum.

Let me know what kind of content you want to read and I’ll gladly come up with something for you.

Right now, I have requests to

  • Share my systems and routines

  • How to get enough protein during the day

  • The top skills I used to get my tech job and how to obtain them faster

P.S. I’ve decided to open up 5 spots for coaching (FREE for now).

I want to be able to serve you on a more personal level.

If you need help with the following:

  • Getting in shape with minimal time and effort.

  • Being more productive at work or on your business without any extra effort or complicated systems.

  • Getting comfortable speaking on camera even if you hate public speaking.

We may be a good fit!

Let’s schedule a chat and I will help (no strings attached).

If not, no worries, check out the resources below.

See you next time!

Resources:

  • Strategy Call (limited time): 25-minute insight-packed call with Brand Marz on achieving your health, creative, and professional goals.

  • The Essentials Workout Plan: Easy to follow, minimalist workout plan to help you start your fitness journey and stick to it long-term.

  • High Impact Writing: Learn how to write compelling social media and long-form content that will attract fans and grow your business.

  • Speechify: High-quality text-to-speech reader up to 4.5x speed ($60 off link).

  • Content OS: Set up a content creation machine to systemize your weekly workflow.

  • Hypefury: Save 4 hours per week scheduling unlimited social media posts and more.

Reply

or to participate.