• Focus Friday
  • Posts
  • How I Found My Niche (as a multi-passionate father)

How I Found My Niche (as a multi-passionate father)

The problem with choosing a profitable niche when you have many interests. Here's what I did to find my path.

How I found my niche as a multipassionate father…

Let me tell you, it wasn’t easy.

I’ve literally struggled for 11 months as of today.

“To niche or not to niche, that is the question.”

- Some wiseass (probably)

How many of you still have uncertainty when it comes to choosing a niche?

Raises hand ✋🏼

Okay me too. You’re in the right place!

Today we’re going to figure out our niche together, sound good?

Cool.

Don’t feel bad, this confusion with niches is common.

Even with all the courses I’ve bought it’s taken me nearly a year to figure this out.

But as I stumble over my own thoughts and get fed up with my lack of progress I start to make realizations.

I go from a lost and burnt-out Brand to a crystal clear and personal Brand… 🥁

Because my name is Brand, get it? Personal…Brand??

I just broke one of the biggest rules of content creation.

Can you guess what it is?

Be clear, not clever. Sadly, I was neither in this case.

I’m clearly no comedian, but if dad jokes were my niche, I might have a shot in the dark… 🥸

No? Eh, back to business then.

The realization I’ve made is that there are 2 paths:

1) The Classic Niche

2) The Hybrid Niche

Let me explain.

The Classic vs. Hybrid Niche

You’re probably wondering what these are.

Or maybe you have a faint idea.

Alright, I’ll just tell you.

The Classic Niche

A business niche is a specialized or focused area of a broader market that businesses can serve to differentiate themselves from the competition.

i.e. Online fitness consultant for high-performing entrepreneurs and executives who want to lose weight.

Title:

Fat Loss Fitness Coach for High Performing Professionals

Content Topics:

  • Fat loss nutrition

  • Exercise for muscle maintenance

  • Sleep and supplement guidance

  • Stretching routines

  • Grocery walkthroughs

  • Beginner mistakes of fat loss

  • Cardio routines

  • The occasional post about what music they work out to and Gymshark clothing

The Hybrid Niche

A niche that combines a wider range of interests and skills that makes a single person unique. Also known as the “niche of one” or “YOU are the niche.”

i.e. Multi-passionate tech dads who want to be in shape, productive, and create another income stream for their family’s future alongside their 9-5

Title:

The Full-Stack, Evolved Father

Content Topics:

  • Exercise and nutrition for performance

  • Simple productivity for efficient work and having more family and leisure time

  • Online business and marketing for building a profitable personal brand with a marketable skill stack

  • Philosophy and stoicism for men’s mental health

At a high level, the Classic Niche specializes in solving one specific problem.

The Hybrid Niche caters to a specific type of person with a wide net of problems that the person has solved for themselves.

Both of these paths are beneficial in their own right.

  • Choosing a Classic Niche is tried and true and it has been proven to make people money for a long time.

  • Choosing a Hybrid Niche sets you apart from the other commodity creators and brands talking about the same thing.

Why does the classic niche work well?

It focuses on expertise, a target customer avatar, and advice tailored toward a specific outcome.

The more specific and valuable the solution, the more you can charge for an offer.

i.e. Overweight women in tech jobs will more likely buy a program that claims to help that exact person lose 15 lbs in 15 days vs. a generic weight loss program.

h/t $100M Offers by Alex Hormozi

Example of the Classic Niche Advocates:

  • Alex Hormozi

    • Target: Business owners making over $3M in revenue.

    • Offer: Helps them scale to over $100M with the systems he used to build his businesses

  • Dan Go

    • Target: Busy, high-earning entrepreneurs who want higher performance in their business via fat loss

    • Offer: Helps them with their specific fitness goals to perform better with personalized coaching.

Why does the Hybrid niche work well?

It focuses on connection, authenticity, and advice tailored toward people like you or your former self.

The focus is on solving your own problems, so you can build an engaged audience who will rave at most, if not all, of your content and offers.

i.e. Beginner content creators who want to build an online business with a personal brand by helping their audience with problems they’ve solved for themselves through coaching/consulting calls, digital products, and monetizing their content.

Examples of the Hybrid Niche Advocates:

  • Dan Koe

    • Target: Creators who want to build a one-person business around their interests

    • Offer: Helps them learn the basics of online business, content creation, and self-improvement concepts to achieve a dream life via a suite of digital products

  • Hamza Ahmed

    • Target: Young men who want to better themselves with self-improvement and prevent a mediocre life of distractions

    • Offer: Helps them with full guides and strategies for personal development with his online community and potentially 1-to-1 coaching.

So that begs the question, which one is better?

Which path is right for you?

What should you do to:

  • Make the most money?

  • Pursue for greatest purpose?

  • Look for the path that is most sustainable?

I think you will be pleasantly surprised with the answer.

Which Path Do You Choose?

Deciding on a path for the rest of your life seems terrifying.

You might be wondering (like I have), what if I don’t like it later?

What if the market changes?

What if I don’t make money?

Business and entrepreneurship always come with risk.

You’re going to have to make decisions with some uncertainty.

There’s going to be fluctuations in the economy.

AI is going to change the way we work and do business.

It’s just reality and human nature is an ever untamed beast.

Sure, things will change, but there are sets of skills and markets that will always have a demand as long as humans continue to exist.

4 eternal markets: health, wealth, relationships, fulfillment

The 4 eternal markets:

  • Health

  • Wealth

  • Relationships

  • Fulfillment

These won’t change so you shouldn’t overwhelm yourself with the “right” decision.

Because honestly, you can make the choice right.

You can pivot later and use your gained experience to leverage a new venture if it comes down to it.

So what do we do?

Hybrid or Classic Niche?

Do both.

Why?

Because they make sense the most depending on the context.

If you’re creating a personal brand, people want to hear from people.

Your personality along with your interests (all of them) will be interesting to other people.

They will:

  • Watch

  • Read

  • Like

  • Comment

  • Hate*

  • Share

  • Inspire

  • Educate

  • Entertain

content from other humans.

*Troll comments and contrarian viewpoints usually give content more reach via algorithm.

The Hybrid Niche is perfect for appealing to a community of potential fans just like you.

Of course not everyone will agree or be interested in everything you post about but we don’t have to.

Think about the people you follow.

Do you like everything they post? No.

And you probably still bought a product or ebook from them anyway.

That leads us to the next path:

The Classic Niche.

Use this approach when you find a compelling problem to solve.

Preferably a specific problem for a specific person.

If I create a digital product on life mastery, it may appeal to everyone but do you think it would be compelling enough on its own to sell?

Probably not. It’s too broad, I doubt I would get many clicks.

Let’s try something more specific:

If I create a digital product on how first-time dads can lose the dadbod by shedding an extra 15 lbs without spending hours in the gym by using the Dadbod-Be-Gone Blueprint;

I could almost guarantee I’d make more sales to a more compelling problem.

In fact, I could add a Guarantee and it would probably sell more.

Right now I’m learning more about this processing using a few courses.

They’re quite expensive but there are high-level courses for free from Alex Hormozi that have been helping me massively already.

You may have heard of them:

Check them out to learn more about this process in detail!

Hopefully, you see where I’m getting at here.

Create content broadly, and solve problems specifically.

Note: Since posting this, I’ve slightly updated my stance on niche. I do believe it’s beneficial to speak to one type of person in the beginning and then diversify later. I’ll probably end up speaking more about this as I learn more. Bear with me.

If you’re curious about how to implement this strategy for yourself, stay tuned for next week’s letter.

I’ll be breaking down how I discovered my content pillars and my strategy for never running out of ideas when posting content.

If you’re subscribed, you’ll get it straight to your inbox.

If you’re not, you can subscribe below, so you don’t miss it.

Have a good week and keep learning!

P.S. I’ve decided to open up 5 spots for coaching (FREE for now).

I want to be able to serve you on a more personal level.

If you need help with the following:

  • Getting in shape with minimal time and effort.

  • Being more productive at work or on your business without any extra effort or complicated systems.

  • Getting comfortable speaking on camera even if you hate public speaking.

We may be a good fit!

Let’s schedule a chat and I will help (no strings attached).

If not, no worries, check out the resources below.

See you next time!

Resources:

  • Strategy Call (limited time): 25-minute insight-packed call with Brand Marz on achieving your health, creative, and professional goals.

  • The Essentials Workout Plan: A simple, minimalist workout plan to help you start your fitness journey and stick to it long-term.

  • Speechify: Learning is one of the best investments you can make for yourself. Emails, articles, ebooks, and more are read to you at up to 4.5x speed ($60 off link).

  • Content OS: Set up a content creation machine to systemize your weekly workflow.

  • Hypefury: Save 4 hours per week by scheduling unlimited social media posts and save your ideas in a clean dashboard.

Reply

or to participate.