• Focus Friday
  • Posts
  • Is your money-shadow making you poor and unproductive?

Is your money-shadow making you poor and unproductive?

How I escaped my parent's shadow

Last weekend my dad asked me a question I didn’t expect.

“Could you buy the TV I lent you in payments? I’m struggling financially and need anything I can get right now.”

In my family, we were always buying things on credit.

Meaning, always working to pay it off.

But now with a family of my own and a painful past, I realized this was wrong.

Can you relate?

It’s easy to blame your parents or yourself.

But it’s not your fault (or theirs).

Society promotes consumerism lining the pockets of big companies. They fool us into believing happiness is bought.

More money. More things.

They play mind games ingraining beliefs in us as kids through our most trusted advisors, our parents.

Who else are we supposed to listen to?

I used to believe productivity was about working long, hard hours to get anything good in life regardless of quality.

Maybe true to an extent like in your 20s.

But they make it seem like work is a life sentence.

It's only in adulthood that we realize how wrong they are.

And if we're lucky, we're built with enough open-mindedness to question whether these beliefs are even true.

Unfortunately, most people live 80 years never doubting these teachings.

They complain that things need to change without looking to change themselves first.

This is the essence of Focused Development and Purposeful Productivity.

It's based on human-first principles. We can still:

  • Earn enough without needing luxury items to feel happy.

  • Have time to create and play with people who value our unique personality quirks.

  • Buy things we value, not things to impress our envious family members.

  • Adopt a focused life philosophy and be okay with missing out on everything else.

Even as multi-passionates we can develop confidence to pursue our interests one at a time.

Why? Sounds counterproductive, right?

So we can thrive and stack skills consistently instead of burning out to manage 10.

And over a few years, we’ll master the skills with sniper focus over a shotgun approach.

This is true productivity.

It requires intention.

  • How can we expect to run at top speed with a shoe designed for someone else?

  • How can we expect to feel complete when we're piecing together someone else's puzzle?

  • How can we find purpose living in the shadow of ill-fitted idols?

With this new philosophy, I've been able to cut through the noise. The one that says, do more and hustle harder.

Now I believe in less, but better.

Not living by default but by design.

In the process, I created a toolkit called The Focus Fix – a simple but meaningful system to regain time from distractions

(especially from people's opinions on social media).

As a member of this community, you get it free.

Let's build a focused life so we can pass it on to our kids the right way.

And forgive our parents because they did their best. We can still make them proud, starting now.

Stay focused,

Brand M.

P.S. I'm customizing plans for free to the first 5 who complete the guide. Want a calm, stress-free strategy session?

Reply "Focus", and I'll get back to you.

No pressure to join. I get burnt out quickly from calls with strangers so if you're on the fence, I get it.

We can keep it lighthearted and open.

Reply

or to participate.