Why You Need a Digital Declutter

Reclaim lost time, clarity, and meaningful experiences without quitting social media.

I can’t help but wonder how much excess is truly invading our peace of mind.

It became clear to me recently, as I sat at my computer during my workday, paralyzed, staring at my screen.

Thousands of thoughts flooded my mind:

  • Do I work on my newsletter today?

  • But there’s this cool thread I wanted to dissect…

  • Ah, but I have this work meeting at 9 am

  • Maybe I’ll call in

  • Oh yeah, I still need to finish that course!

  • Let me check Instagram really quick…

90 minutes later…no progress has been made.

Imagine your digital space as a cluttered room overflowing with 8.93 million gadgets, apps, and notifications.

This accumulation of unnecessary resources and distractions has become the norm in our lives.

According to a survey, the average user has 40 apps installed on their phone.

I just counted mine…geez.

82 apps.

Luckily I have over 90% of notifications silenced.

The product of digital lifestyle inflation.

We have become reliant on technology that steals our time and hinders genuine human connections.

The more technology we use, the more we become attached to it and stray from purpose-driven activities.

  • Attention spans are decreasing

  • There is too much content to keep up with.

  • More information is becoming available online than ever.

Last month, I had a chat with a friend, and a point was made clear:

Digital lifestyle inflation has crept into our lives and we openly allow it to flourish.

This is a dangerous epidemic that demands awareness, a mindset shift, and radical action.

Enter Digital Minimalism

As technology evolves, our lives become overwhelmed by content, notifications, and endless information.

Depression and anxiety rates are higher than ever.

A creator I bought a course from just bounced back from burnout and depression.

Here’s a snippet from his email:

According to an article I read, 61% of creators have experienced “burnout” - and I'm definitely part of that statistic..

Recently, I've experienced a combination of burnout and depression, which is the reason you might not have heard from me in a while.

The good news is that I'm on the other side of it now and starting to feel a lot better.

Beau Norton, Paid to Bring Peace

I noticed him tapering off of posting after he launched his course.

That was back in February.

3 months of recovery is not something any of us want to go through, but soon, some of us may end up needing it.

Amidst this noise, digital minimalism offers a conscious choice to:

  • optimize essential technology

  • eliminate distractions

  • regain mental clarity

  • reclaim our time and energy

  • prioritize what truly matters

What is Digitial Minimalism anyways?

In Cal Newport’s book, he defines it as:

A philosophy of technology use in which you focus your online time on a small number of carefully selected and optimized activities that strongly support things you value, and then happily miss out on everything else.

Here are the main takeaways:

  • Digital Declutter: Decluttering our digital lives by removing unnecessary apps, disabling notifications, and unsubscribing from irrelevant digital services creates a more focused and intentional online experience.

  • High-Quality Leisure: Activities that bring genuine satisfaction and fulfillment, such as hobbies, time with loved ones, outdoor pursuits, and deep work.

  • Importance of Solitude: Solitude and reflection allow us to be alone with our thoughts and engage in activities that foster self-discovery and creativity.

  • Minimalist Practices: Strategies like scheduling technology use, conducting digital decluttering experiments, and setting boundaries to implement digital minimalism.

  • Lifelong Mastery: Digital minimalism is a lifelong practice that requires ongoing assessment and adjustment to ensure technology serves us instead of controlling us.

Don’t click “Like”

Technology companies like TikTok, Meta, and Reddit have engineered billions of dollars to steal our attention.

It’s our job to create more friction between picking up our phones and checking them mindlessly.

Playing the game of social media is fun in the moment, but it’s not worth:

  • The lost hours of time

  • The loss of clarity from overwhelm

  • The lack of connection to the physical activities we used to value most.

Limiting screen time creates space for self-reflection, boredom, and meaningful activities.

This shift allows us to reconnect with ourselves, our loved ones, and the world around us leading to:

  • Increased creativity

  • Improved decision-making

  • Reduced stress and anxiety

It provides a chance to declutter not just our physical and digital environments, but also our minds.

Practical Technology

These are the practices I’ve adopted in my routine after becoming a digital minimalist:

Start my day without checking my phone. 
  • Begin with 10 minutes of meditation or light stretching to set a positive and mindful tone for the day.

  • Brain dump everything that comes up during that time.

Set specific times throughout the day to check and respond to messages.
  • I don’t get on social media till 11 am and limit it to 30 minutes a day

  • I check emails and messages in the morning (5 minutes) and evening (20-30 min).

Take breaks and engage in activities I genuinely enjoy.
  • Step outside during my lunch break and in the evenings, or pursue a hobby that brings me fulfillment.

  • I like to ride my bike and play with my kids.

  • Still working on setting a hard cut-off around 7:30 pm to unwind and let my mind compile the day’s information.

Remove unnecessary apps and notifications that distract and steal my attention.
  • Prioritize the ones that align with my goals and values.

  • I only have work apps notify me during the workday.

A 30-day detox from optional technologies.
  • Evaluate which ones truly enhance my life and bring me joy, and let go of those that don't.

  • I don’t have social media apps on my phone.

  • If I need Twitter or Youtube I have to use my laptop (I have a Newsfeed blocker extension)

Take control of your relationship with technology.

By doing so, I’ve seen improvements in my mental health, built stronger relationships, and rediscovered the joys of real-life experiences.

Technology should not define our lives – it should complement it.

Digital minimalism can free us from the grip of technological overload and regain control over our time, attention, and mental well-being.

It won't be easy, but it'll be worth it.

As always if you got value out of this, let me know with a reply or DM on Twitter!

How else can I help you?

Want clarity on your personal or professional systems? Book a free strategy call with me!

Or check out any of the valuable resources I use below!

See you next time!

Resources:

Communities:

  • Modern Mastery: Join a like-minded group of individuals committed to self-mastery, building an online business, and gaining financial freedom.

  • Dad’s Online Business Toolbox: Join a community of men who are building families, online businesses, and legacies. Free modules are added every month!

Content Mastery:

  • Speechify: Emails, articles, ebooks, and more are read to you at up to 4.5x speed. ($60 off link).

  • 2-Hour Writer: Learn a marketable skill writing 1-2 hours per day that translates to a promotion, a business, or bringing clarity to your overactive mind.

  • Content OS: Set up a content creation machine to systemize your weekly workflow.

  • Hypefury: Schedule unlimited tweets and save your ideas in a clean dashboard while saving 4 hours per week.

Reply

or to participate.