The Comfort Zone Is Destroying Your Life

A raw discussion on dealing with procrastination and your inner demons.

Sorry.

I apologize in advance because today’s letter isn’t exactly for you.

It’s selfish.

You’re free to unsub if you want.

But if you want to know why keep reading.

Feeling compelled, I cut my meditation short to write this – a brain dump of what’s been on my mind lately.

I don’t share stuff like this on social media because you and me are the only ones who (hopefully) get it.

The Domain of Misery

Growth doesn’t exist outside of your comfort zone.

I’ve been a little stuck lately. You know the typical platitude of, “there’s no growth inside your comfort zone?”

That’s coming up right now.

I’ve injected myself into the creator economy since October 28th, 2022. The day I bought a subscription to Dan Koe’s Modern Mastery to start an “online business.”

But guess what? There’s no business.

Yes, I’ve made money. A few hundred dollars to be exact. Gained a bit over a thousand followers, sure.

But a business?

What is a business? An offer (solution to a specific problem) in exchange for money that occurs regularly.

That’s nonexistent for me. I’ve been procrastinating.

Update: this is not exactly true. I have a fitness coaching client who came to me suddenly. I;m super grateful and thrilled to work with her but it doesn’t feel earned though. Could be a story for another day…

I’ve been creating content that “feels good”. I reduced my social media addiction only to find a new comfort bubble:

(aimless) content creation.

But I have good intentions, right?

I have a mission, a purpose, and a long-term goal of realizing my potential, building my legacy, and sharing the journey with others, right?

Kinda.

Here’s the problem:

I’ve been subtly chasing the white rabbit (on the outside) – an object so shiny, it makes diamonds jealous…

That build-up of emotions followed by a crash and then desperately looking for the next “thing.”

The modern black magic formula of today’s plugged-in society:

Dopamine + shiny-object syndrome.

Most of us don’t realize it but we’re all running away from something, clinging on to the closest thing that makes us forget what we’re unconsciously afraid of.

What do I mean?

The inner child within us defaults to a comfort bubble.

Let’s say you grew up yelled at and shamed for being a loud kid. Maybe now you’re more “introverted” and have an unconscious fear of loud and authoritative people.

So you cling to quiet environments like your room full of anime and video game lore.

Having self-awareness is praised but it comes with the responsibility of facing the unfiltered truth.

And sometimes that truth hurts.

You have to face your inner demons and they keep showing up until you destroy them.

It’s not easy. But what the hell am I talking about?

I’ll explain in a moment.

“You’re fine the way you are.”

Sound familiar? If you don’t already know, I was a momma’s boy.

I didn’t struggle much growing up because I was always taken care of. I didn’t have many chances to fail or try new things.

So I ended up learning many things late in life:

  • Getting a job

  • Washing my clothes

  • Learning how to cook

  • Driving myself to college

  • Understanding money and how it works

I had to figure that out on my own. All that to say, I’ve rebuilt a new comfort bubble:

Content creation without the uncertainty of building a real business.

I’ve been procrastinating on actually selling something.

Yeah, shame on me.

But of course, I won’t just sit here and complain about it like I used to. I am vowing to give it a shot, failures and all.

I have a wide array of skills that I can use to help people reach the transformations I’ve made.

  • Fitness transformations

  • Building solid relationships

  • Habits and discipline improvements

  • Changing careers and tripling my income

  • Learning to tame and focus a neurodivergent brain

And now it’s using my 1+ years of business knowledge to finally build a business.

I stole Justin Welsh’s LinkedIn bio and used it for myself.

Here’s what I tell myself to help me sleep at night:

Over the last decade, I built an aesthetic physique (35+ lbs of muscle), helped dozens of clients transform their minds and bodies, and sold over 6-figures in fitness packages in under 9 months.

Then, in 2019, I burned out.

So, I decided to walk away from my fitness career.

I hardly had time for my family.

I felt defeated for some time, but I never lost hope. I thought to myself, “There has to be a better way to balance life and work without the anxiety.”

During my intermittent break, I had made a discovery.

I found an opportunity to spend 6-12 months learning a valuable skill that would soon become an incredible asset. That next year turned into an epic career and life transformation that would play a major part in my new “full-stack” lifestyle.

So, I started training at a data science boot camp in mid-2020.

And the results were incredible.

In just 6 months I went from zero coding experience to building 6 data science projects (with real data).

And on June 7th, 2021, I landed a new job as a Machine Learning Engineer.

Since that day, I've spent my time building several personal and professional projects.

I’ve learned from many mistakes, and have fully transformed my life using a method I developed along the way that I call, “Anti-hustle productivity” – the 80/20 life systems that create higher leverage, free time, and personal fulfillment.

My mission is to be a "Full-stack Father."

My results:

→ Paid off over $53,000 in debt.

→ Published 30+ blogs and 60+ videos.

→ Eliminated a 20-year media addiction.

→ Tripled my income from 2019 to 2023.

→ Purchased a home and 1-acre property.

→ Built a family of 4 with my wife of 6+ years.

→ Gained 2k followers across all social media.

→ Developed 6 enterprise-level software products

If you want to learn more about how I did this, you can message me directly or visit my website.

Yesterday, I spent about 6 hours hyperfocused on finding a niche for an offer to target.

The classic niche I spoke about is the way for most people if you want to make real money.

The hybrid niche is only reserved for those who have earned the right to talk about their interest.

Only after you’ve built authority in one area can you branch out to another.

So until next time, I’ll be getting ultra clear on my niche, running experiments, and focusing on finding a burning problem that I can solve best.

You will continue to get value from this letter as I share my

  • Lessons

  • Mistakes

  • Insights

I’ve narrowed it down to either fitness or productivity-related. The point is to find my highest point of contribution but it’s hard as f*ck.

Only time will tell though.

So what do we do now?

Dust yourself off and try again

If at first, you don’t succeed, dust yourself off and try again.

Aaliyah Dana Haughton

I can’t end this letter without takeaway lessons for you, so I’ll bite.

  • Stop procrastinating

  • Understand yourself better to know when you are

  • And spend more time thinking in silence instead of looking for answers outside of yourself.

  • If your goals scare you, that’s a sign that you NEED to do it anyway.

Your best life is on the other side of fear. Start now or regret it later.

P.S.

F*cking ironic that I wrote about this last week lol

(these letters are all notes to self subconsciously wrapped in systems made by smart people – go figure).

Have a good week ya’ll.

Regular issues resume next week!

Leave me a reply in the meantime or unsubscribe if you just want the polished and clean stuff. There’s plenty of that out there.

Chow for now!

Reply

or to participate.